Taryn Herselman

Yoga Johannesburg Taryn H

Teacher Info

Taryn Herselman is the director of Shakti Yoga Therapy Centre in Gauteng. She is a qualified yoga therapist and internationally trained yoga teacher with over 8 years of teaching experience. She is also the director of Yoga Alliance International South Africa


Yoga Circle one year Yoga Teacher training course – August 2005 – South Africa
Yoga Vidha Gurukul certified Yoga teacher training course – March 2008 – India
Yoga Vidha Gurukul certified Advanced yoga training course – October 2010 – India
Yoga Vidha Gurukul certified Yoga Therapy training course – October 2011 -India


Practicing Yoga since 1998
Teaching yoga since August 2005
Director of Shakti Yoga Centre since Jan 2008
Running Teacher training courses since March 2011

Cost Starting from R120.00 for 75 min
Subjects Yoga
Ages 16 – 60
Levels Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Experience 1 – 3 Years

Lesson Info

1. Vinyasa means “breath-synchronized movement,” and Vinyasa yoga is a series of poses that will move you through the power of inhaling and exhaling. Vinyasa movements are smoothly flowing and almost dance-like, which explains why it is sometimes referred to as Vinyasa Flow or just Flow.


2. Yin yoga is a slow-paced style of yoga with poses, or asanas, that are held for longer periods of time—five minutes or more per pose is typical.

Yin Yoga has the same goals and objectives as any other school of yoga; however, it directs the stimulation normally created in the asana portion of the practice deeper than the superficial or muscular tissues (which we are calling the yang tissues). Yin Yoga targets the connective tissues, such as the ligaments, bones, and even the joints of the body that normally are not exercised very much in a more active style of asana practice.

Suitable for almost all levels of students, Yin Yoga is a perfect complement to the dynamic and muscular (yang) styles of yoga that emphasize internal heat, and the lengthening and contracting of our muscles. Yin Yoga generally targets the connective tissues of the hips, pelvis, and lower spine.



3. Hatha yoga refers to a set of physical exercises (known as asanas or postures), and sequences of asanas, designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. The postures are also designed to open the many channels of the body—especially the main channel, the spine—so that energy can flow freely.

It is an old system that includes the practice of asanas (yoga postures) and pranayama (yoga breathing exercises), which help bring peace to the mind and body, preparing the body for deeper spiritual practices such as meditation.

Contact Teacher

Request Lesson

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This